Jay Electronica …The best??

They call me Jay Electronica
Fuck that.
Call me Jay ElecHannukah.
Jay ElecYarmulka.

All you have to do is sit back and listen, hear the voice , listen to the depth of the lyrics and enjoy the sniper like delivery. Jay Electronica is incredible.

I can not say enough about this guy, he makes me believe in hip-hop again and in todays market that is no small task.

I first met Jay at Just Blazes’ baseline studios in the spring of 2007, we were putting the finishing touches on the next KIDZ album and Jay blessed us with a verse for  “Cool , Relax” which  we released on the deluxe itunes only version. As soon as I heard his voice I just knew he had it. A throwback voice that might remind you of 94 and “Illmatic” and lyrics that just did not sound like someone who was new in the game, the poise of a veteran with true life war stories that you simply can’t make up. Me and my partner D. tried to get Jay to sign a a deal , but Jay was on his own path. Impossible to lock down for a meeting and even tougher to book for a session. Jay was in and out of NY constantly.  I never stopped following Jay as the internet began to catch on, before I knew it he was one the cover of URB yet had NEVER RELEASED A SINGLE.  Soon after a tour with Nas would follow and Jay Electronica just kept on pushing.

His talent is undeniable, and his New Orleans roots make his flow and his story all the more compelling. He is on that down south sh*t , but sounds like he is from the “Bridge” . Truly a worldly rapper that has seen so much turmoil and drama in his life that he can’t help but spit flames.

So now Jay Electronica finally has himself the serious buzz and hit single he deserves. “Exhibit C” is just the tip of the iceberg. If Just Blaze continues to produce I cant imagine what they will come with next and I really cant wait to hear it.  I put Jay Electronica against any rapper out there and Jay wins. Dont make us wait another year for the next single…

Here is to the future of hip-hop!

Leave a Reply

