Spigolo – Upper East Gem!

I am not a big fan of the upper east side when it comes to dining out. There are just other neighborhoods that I would prefer to explore and lets be honest the people watching element on the upper east can be a bit dull. Maybe I am still plagued from my years of taking the dreaded cross town bus at 86th street to get to High School.

But if you happen to be on the Upper East (as I was this past weekend) then I suggest stopping into Spigolo. Again its 81st street location makes you feel like you might be dining in Connecticut, but the food and cute atmosphere more than make up for it. I had a delicious jumbo shrimp appetizer , followed by some heavy gnocchi with pancetta. It was excellent.

The staff was and service were great and even though Spigolo is tight in terms of space, there was no wait to get a table.  If you happen to be in the no mans land that is 81st and second avenue, I highly suggest popping by Spigolo.

Spigolo

1561 Second Avenue (at 81st)

212.744.1100

Leave a Reply

