Sushi of Gari

This past Saturday night I had not planned anything spectacular activity wise, but mid-day an invitation came my way that was hard to pass up. My best friend Oliver Brodlieb and  his lovely bride (and also of course my best friend) Taryn aka T-Dot invited me to join them at Sushi of Gari. Now I have been to Gari on a few occasions and each time I have had the pleasure of doing the tasting menu known formally as OMAKASE.

If you are going to make the trip to one of three Gari locations in NYC, then you must have the OMAKASE. Simply put I have never experienced Sushi like this before or since and each time I have it,  I marvel and the creativity, the presentation but most importantly the taste.

Let me preface this by saying I am a very average sushi person. I like my spicy tuna rolls, I dabble in yellow tail from time to time and if I am feeling like big pimpin I ‘ll grab myself a bunch of toro, but again this is basic stuff : Sushi 101 if you will.

Now the Omakase at Gari is like AP Sushi,  strictly for the honor roll top of the class sushi eaters and of course those with some adventure running through their veins.

The most challenging part of the Omakase  is describing the pieces,  It’s not just sushi, each pad of rice and fish is like a blank canvas, each worked over in a wildly different style that enchants and surprises. Whether it was the yellow tail with jalapeno or the seared toro, or the infamous salmon with a marinated tomato on top touched with an onion sauce..its all just Amazing.

I was able to find a few of the selections we had online….

Fatty Toro
Red Snapper with greens, Pine nuts and Lotus Root
Horse Mackerel with Plum Sauce and Ginger
Yellow tail with Jalapeno
Mackerel (I think) with buttered Enoki Mushroom
Blue fin Tuna with Tofu Cream cheese
Salmon with Marinated Tomato
Mackerel with Sesame sauce
Seared Toro

Being that I am not a professional restaurant critic and I did not bring a pad and pen to document each piece all I can say is GO!!! The experience is not cheap, roughly $100.00 per person, but in my mind worth every penny because its more than simply eating cool pieces of doctored up sushi, its culinary art for real.

Sushi Of Gari

402 East 78th Street

New York, NY 10075

212-517-5340

2 Responses to “Sushi of Gari”

  1. My wifes favorite joint

  2. I could have had 10 pieces of the “fatty” Tuna. What’s next?

Leave a Reply

