Shawn Stussy – S.Double

Shawn Stussy had a profound effect on my adolescence.  Stussy did not have th greatest distribution in the late 1980’s and early 90’s. And  living on the east coast in NYC did not making finding Stussy any easier. For me this was the golden age of skateboarding and  really the birth of the street/surf/skate wear industry.

On the Upper West Side there was jean store called Pandemonium that would occasionally have some cool Stussy Tees. Eventually Union opened in SOHO and all my Stussy dreams came true. I would hop on the Lance Mountain Powell mini and shoot down to the shop in hopes of finding that Stussy Chanel Logo Tee or the infamous “Hood” tee (Compton, The Bronx, etc) The beauty of the Stussy brand was that because it was hard to find, if you had the gear it seemed like you were up on something that all skater kids jocked but not all could find.

Eventually in I believe 1991 the first Stussy store opened in SOHO and I had to have it all, I can recall fondly walking into that shop (which was located across the street from where the Apple Store SoHo location is currently housed, at the time the Apple Store was a post office if memory serves me.) Anyway I remember walking into the Stussy store on the day it opened and they were playing DAS EFX on the sound system. The Shit was just perfect.

And who can forget the incredible Stussy print ads from Thrasher Magazine and Transworld. Classic Material. (But that is for a whole other post)

S. Double New York Tee

Fast forward to present day and the Stussy company is no longer owned by founder and lead designer Shawn Stussy, but the flyness still remains. And Shawn Stussy has not stopped delivering the goods either. His line called S. Double (S.hawn S.tussy) is pretty fresh. I don’t have any pieces myself, but I will be on the look out. You should too!

Leave a Reply

