“King Of New York”

Addictions.  At one time or another in life we all have them (some more than others) So in the spirit of being honest and  getting past the first step of denial and admitting powerlessness , I am here to admit that I am powerless over the gravitational pull of the internet,  yes I have become an internet Addict.

Some people smoke rock, some like to twist one up,  some heads even shoot up…But Me……Me…. I  just constantly scour the internet for shit I think is cool.  I log onto my mac book and proceed to open up like 13 tabs and bang bang boogie let the games begin.

So if you have made is this far you must be wondering what the hell my internet habit has to do with the title of this post. “King Of New York”

So here it is..I was doing my daily “let me see what new sneakers and t-shirts and music” is brand spanking new and get my shopping list organized for the weekend.  After uncovering some new joints from GAME and Drake , stopped by one of my all time favorite hip-hop sites HipHopDX. They recently started selling Hip-Hop related tees and what not and like that something caught my eye.  Now I just don’t scour the internet because I am addicted to buying needless consumer goods, but as someone who likes to write, the internet is my go to source for inspiration (Yeah I agree I might want to get out the house one of these days , but whatever..)

So I see a T-shirt and boom, inspiration. My first thought was to just do the usual on my blog, post a photo of the shirts, say some witty shit and call it a wrap.  But the true inspiration set in…..in the image of that T-shirt was a debate, a debate I have had time and time again with fellow music enthusiasts, proud new yorkers, sports fans etc…

“Who Is The King Of New York?”

Well lets start with the shirt that caused this little spark plug-in my mind.

King Jay?

For starters let’s get this out-of-the-way, I think the shirt is dope. Yankee Blue, Interlocking NY Yankee logo, I was sold before my brain could even register what it meant.

Jay Z The King

But of course the meaning is obvious, Jay Z is the clear “KING OF NEW YORK”  that what this shirt is saying. Besides being arguably the most successful rapper of all time , his last opus basically sealed the deal. “EMPIRE STATE OF MIND” was a runaway # 1 smash single. Like Sinatra and “New York, New York” but for 09.

“I’m the new Sinatra,
And since I made it here,
I can make it anywhere”

And as it seems with all things related to Jay Z, the marketing and timing gods were on his side. As the song was peaking at radio and booming from sound systems across the 5 boroughs, the Yankees were crushing the competition on their way to their 27th World Title, and guess what, Jay Z even performed his ode to NYC and himself at Game 2 of The World Series.  So In November of 2009 , Jay was certainly the King.

“Catch me at the X with OG at a Yankee game,
Sh-t I made the Yankee hat more famous than a Yankee can”

Bold words….but the last line says it all…

“Statue of Liberty, long live the World trade,
Long live the king yo”

I love Jay Z, I think he is an incredible talent, rapper, businessman, etc. But I always had a theory and this is where the crux of the debate for me begins…. If Biggies life was not cut so tragically short, would Jay Z be where he is today?

Biggie ...."Long Live The World Trade"

When Biggie was taken from us, he was the biggest rapper on the planet, only two short weeks from the release of his 2nd album, a double CD ironically titled “Life After Death” . The album is one of the greatest of all time and went on to sell many millions. The year was 1997.

But as soon as BIG was gone there was an empty throne , and despite the ups and downs of  Hip-Hop over the years, New York pretty much is always home to the KING, even if the rest of New York born hip-hop is a stale as the wonder bread in my fridge. So in 1998 Jay Z puts out his second album , drops  a monster anthem titled “Hard Knock Life” and the rest as they say is History.

"Hard Knock Life"

But If BIG was still around would Jay be able to grow into what he has become, is New York big enough for two Kings? I always wonder what would have happened.

No doubt Jay would always have been huge and would drop hit after hit after hit like Jeter, but would he have been able to comfortably call himself  “THE KING OF NEW YORK”

Now of course when it comes to sports the YANKEES are the real Kings of New York (But I am beyond biased) and  that’s a little different since baseball is a true team sport, but what happens to Jay Z if The Knicks sign KING JAMES?

"King James"

Sorry Jigga but if Lebron comes to the garden…all bets are off!!

All this from a damn T-shirt…..

BIG aka FRANK WHITE YOU WILL ALWAYS BE THE KING!!!

The good friends at Hip-Hop DX have some pretty cool tees worth taking a look at it.

8 Responses to ““King Of New York””

  1. Matty fresh!! I love that ‘king of new york’ poster! gives me the chills. “…you sell a nickel bag on the street ..I want in…”

  2. Lauren Cooper Says:

    Matty..Love today’s post (as u and I have had the Biggie/Jigga discussion before). Thanks for today’s entertainment!

  3. This was Pretty Dope and Thought Provoking, touched on alot of things here. This Debate will Never End! BIG was the King WITH ONLY 2 Albums released and in a perfect world.. He then Passed the Torch to the Long Running Ruler Jay Z.

  4. great passing the tourch. Adiction is bad ,VK

  5. llllllBe Active Be Sincere And Be Orignal

  6. […] mattyfresh697400.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

