Hootie and The Blowfish..Thank You Pandora.

I feel compelled to write a post to state clearly that my blog is not simply about Hip-Hop music, or music in general for that matter. That being said I am just loving music right now and can not get enough so in fact this particular post IS about music.  So I am seemingly contradicting myself as I touch each letter on my keyboard.

But I digress again…

Spring is certainly in the air and there is something about this time of year, as the mercury rises and the warm breeze blows through the streets of NY, all music just sounds better. I don’t care what you are listening to!

So right now rather than listening to some Drake, Or Jay Z or Ice Cube or my man Jay Electronica  guess what I am bumping??  A little band called Hootie and the Blowfish. …

Thats right Hootie and The Blowfish. Perhaps the worst name ever for a band , but let’s be clear their first album “Cracked Rear View Mirror” was a monster and it still sounds great. The Album sold 16 MILLION copies.  Put Jigga, Kanye and Weezy together and they still could not touch that number. Lead singer Darius Rucker has the voice of  the angels and although now he is fully entrenched in country music, his time with Hootie was special.

16 Million Sold

I can grasp that you might not want to admit that you liked Hootie, but you know you did.  Hard not to like 3 white boys in cut off dockers and collegiate hats and a Black leader singer that is more Dave Matthews than Corey Glover (shout out to the band  Living Colour )

The debut album that garnered the band a BEST NEW ARTIST Grammy in 1996 had 4 top 20 hits, cmon you know the titles…

“Hold My Hand”

“Let Her Cry”

“Time”

“Only Wanna Be with You”

So why Hootie and why  today, I really cant say,  Probably because I was listening to Pandora at my desk and there they were.

But I think that’s what  Pandora and YouTube and Itunes are for. To remind us that music is not always about whats new and hot  and whats coming next, but that in fact we already have tens of thousands of classic songs at our fingertips twenty-four hours a day seven days a week…. go get em!

One Response to “Hootie and The Blowfish..Thank You Pandora.”

  1. Time Rocks!

Leave a Reply

