The January Myth

I have not posted to my blog since August 5th 2010.

That is a nice , solid stretch of time. But the truth is that I thought about posting to my blog , I just never did. In fact I think it would be fair to say that I actually thought about posting almost daily. The beauty of blogging is that the entire world is your subject, there are no boundaries. But it is just that freedom that can drive a keen life observer like myself… MAD!!!… and in turn lead to that dreaded foe that we all face…Procrastination.

To Procrastinate is : to defer action ; to delay.

So as I struggled to choose one topic to kick start my blog and more to the point, kick start myself into writing again, the very thing that was keeping me from writing, my own crazy bout of procrastination would serve as my subject.

And the timing of my literary rebirth is no accident, like so many other people I wholeheartedly buy into the myth we all call JANUARY.  January 1st, the new year, a new start  a new start at work, at the gym, a new start on your relationship etc etc.

When January rolls around the calendar and society and that little voice in your head tells you..its time to face the music.

Time to work off the holiday weight..both mental and physical. Time to sharpen the mind and reduce the waist line.

Simply put its time to get your shit together.

And it is truly in the spirit of getting my own shit together that I return to the warm embrace of my blog. My New Years Resolutions are pretty standard..you know hit the gym, lose weight, go back to karate, time with family etc..

But I must say that my blog was really high on that list, maybe the tops. I have missed writing a lot and thankfully the myth of January and the end of my procrastination has given me the strength to get back after it.

So hopefully this will be the first of many posts in 2011!!

I mean I spend almost every waking hour of my life admiring the sound of my own mental voice, I might as well share that with the ones I love!!…lol.

Happy New Year!

One Response to “The January Myth”

  1. well said my friend, well said.

Leave a Reply

